Ist MBBS batch graduates from GMC Anantnag

SRINAGAR: The first MBBS batch of Government Medical College (GMC), Anantnag, celebrated the completion of their degree with a colorful farewell organized on Saturday.

The inaugural batch of 100 students joined the college, which holds the distinction of being the first GMC in south Kashmir, in 2019.

The farewell, held for the outgoing students, was attended by Dr. Syed Abid Rashid, Secretary of the Health, Medical & Education Department (HME), and featured past Principals of GMC Anantnag, including Dr. (Prof) Showket Jeelani and Dr. (Prof) Syed Tariq Qureshi.

Principal GMC Srinagar, Dr. (Prof) Iffat Hassan, and Principal GMC Baramulla, Dr. (Prof) Ruby Reshi, also graced the occasion as special guests.

Dr. Abid actively engaged with young doctors and students during the event, imparting invaluable lessons in medical education and ethics.

Drawing from his own rich experiences during his pursuit of medical education, he shared inspiring anecdotes, enriching the gathering with profound insights.

Principal Dr. Anjum Farhana conveyed heartfelt congratulations to the graduating MBBS students, acknowledging their dedication and perseverance throughout their academic journey.

She extended gratitude to Dr. Prof Showket Jeelani for pioneering the admission process of the inaugural batch and to Dr. Prof Syed Tariq Qureshi for elevating the institution to new heights.

Dr. Fouzia Nazir, Chairman of the Cultural Committee and Associate Professor, expressed appreciation to all participants and delegates for their invaluable contributions to the success of the program.

The event saw participation from all faculty members, consultants, medical officers, paramedics, and MBBS students.

Officials said that as GMC Anantnag bid farewell to its inaugural MBBS batch, it also welcomed the new cohort of students who embark on their journey towards becoming leaders in healthcare.

During the event, Sheeral Salim was awarded the title of "Student of the Year," while Mir Wajahat, Kaiser Hilal, Mohd Umair, Romana Mir, and Rakhshanda Khursheed were recognized for their achievements as "All-Rounder," "Best Singer," "Favorite Senior," "The Inspiration," and "Helping Hand," respectively. Additionally, Natiq Farooq and Harris Mehraj were honored with the "Athlete of the Year" awards.



Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available
on your smartphone and tablet.
Subscribe to Jammu Links News Video Channel
for daily headlines wrap up, interview and other
exclusive video features.